Hill Country Inline Club
Pace Yourself
Contact Us

March Skater of the Month

Name: Holly Holliday

Age: 42

Marital Status: Married with one 4-year-old boy

Have been skating for how long: 16 years. Started the summer of '95 in San Francisco's Golden Gate Park.

Equipment Brand and Type: K2 Radical Pro 100s

Life Philosophy: 1) Everything has it's season; everything has it's time. 2) Live life to the fullest.

Favorite Time of Day to Skate: Whenever I can get a block of time away from my active 4-year old and work! Favorite time is a sunny weekday afternoon.

Favorite Skating Events: The Texas Road Rash and Napa Valley Inline Marathon

Awards/Competitive Wins: 1st place in age group in the 2001 Napa Valley Inline Marathon.

Biggest Skating Adventure: I've traveled and lived abroad, and have taken my skates with me many times. Skated during my days living in Japan and enjoyed skating along the Dnieper River in Kiev, Ukraine.

Holly Holliday Photo

What do you get from Skating: Best form of cardio workout for me! It keeps me focused on not only working out to stay healthy, but also on my skating skills. It's the only sport/hobby that has really stuck with me and maintained my interest over the years. And, it's a great escape...I turn up the tunes on my iPod and forget about my worries for a while as I skate the Veloway. It's also great to be a part of the HCIC (I joined last year, but I should have joined long ago!) because I enjoy the camaraderie on the Veloway and at such events as the Texas Road Rash!

Would Like to Do This Year in Skating: I have hit a plateau! And so, I'd like to increase my endurance as well as speed! Also, I would like to get involved in more skating events around the country, such as the Northshore Inline Marathon in Duluth, MN and the Tour de Donut!

Coolest Accomplishment: I've traveled to over 30 countries and have worked in Japan and Australia. I've worked for the 1998 Winter Olympics in Japan, the 2000 Summer Olympics in Australia, and 2002 FIFA World Cup in Korea/Japan, but my coolest accomplishment is being a mom! I bought my almost-4-year-old a pair of kiddy roller skates and hope to spark an interest in him to take up inline skating when he gets a bit older!

Other Sports/Hobbies you Enjoy: Hiking, cooking, traveling, walking, music, going to see shows, and having fun with my gregarious son!

Favorite Skating Gadget/Tool: my iPod! Can't skate without my tunes! I listen to everything ranging from Janet Jackson to the Kinks while skating!

Mentors: My friend who first got me into inline skating, Yoshi Fujimaki, from Japan.

Helpful Advice to Beginners: Have confidence! Have fun! Learn to do crossovers around curves because it feels great to keep up your speed as you turn curves. And be sure to wear protective gear! The most important gear to me is my wrist guards. During my first --and last-- time snowboarding, I fell and broke both of my wrists! If I had been wearing wrist guards while snow boarding, that probably would not have happened. We all know the potential falls that inline skating can present...and so I have to take extra care of my wrists from here on out!

Favorite Quote: "Just do it!"