Hill Country Inline Club
Pace Yourself
Contact Us

July Skater of the Month

Name: Chris Scallon

Nickname: Scallywag

Age: 45

Marital Status: Married (13 yrs) with 2 kids, daughter Ryan Isabel (age 11) and son Clark (age 10).

Have been skating for how long:ast 3 years competitive speed 1/2 marathons and 3 years recreational/street when was competitive cyclist back in the day (early 90's).

Equipment Brand and Type: Custom Bont Vapors- boots, Matter G13 110M wheels, Bont 6061-T6 frames, bont abec 7 bearings and ceramics if wet.

Life Philosophy: Life is a sport, play hard, work hard and have fun.

Favorite Time of Day to Skate: morning or evening when cool and no wind.

Favorite Skating Events: Half marathons, Texas Road Rash, pace yourselfs at Veloway are favs at the moment.

Awards / Competitive Wins: Skating - 2nd place age class in Texas Road Rash (2013), 1st place age class Houston Inline (2012), got a few wins for pace yourselfs 1/2 marathons. Too many to list in cycling. Too many to list in Baseball.

Most memorable incident / Biggest skating adventure: when we used to skate the parking garages in downtown Austin - long story.

What do I get from skating: Serves as form of training to keep in shape, helped me get back in shape after a 15 year hiatus of no exercise/horrible diet.

Would like to do this year in skating: Continue to improve form and fitness level and be able to keep up with Bill Harrison and John Thurman.

Coolest Accomplishment: My family - wife Christine and two kids, daughter Ryan Isabel - 11 and son Clark 10. My business - Austin Home and Loan, I am self employed Real Estate Broker and Mortgage Lender.

Other sports / hobbies you enjoy: I am a sports junkie- baseball, football, cycling, snowboarding, skating, weight lifting are just some of the sports I enjoy. Have played about every sport known to man and excelled at many. Now that I am old, coaching baseball/football, especially my son, is a great joy and a way to give back to the sport that gave me so much. When not playing sports, I prefer to be outdoors hunting/fishing/farming/motorcycling and when indoors I Iove music- guitar playing and just hangin with the family.

Favorite skating gadget / tool: My Bont customs.

Mentors:My late father, mom, older brothers (3 of them) and older sisters (3 of them). They taught me about Hard Work, Dedication, an Optimistic attitude and to be the best you can be.

Helpful Advice to Beginners: Get a good pair of comfortable skates, find a great place to skate and learn from those that are better than you - join a skate club -- HCIC

Favorite Quotes: "Life is the perception of the eyes of the beholder" - Dennis Waitley

John Daniewicz Photo